Marionb

By Marionb

Along the Roads....

..the poppies grow..

All the time I was in Limoux I kept hoping that we would see poppies .. I had vivid memories of a trip there in the past when one day, en route to a painting destination, we passed whole fields of them and our driver took the time to stop and let us wander among them and take endless photos. It was an awesome experience - one never to be forgotten...I think most of us, as we continued on our way, were lost in thoughts of In Flanders Fields and trying to remember those famous lines... and remembering why they were written...

This time we did see poppies; they were scattered along the roadsides and throughout some fields but not in the masses as they were the last time. Still, I hoped that we would get a chance to paint some..but our daily outings took us mainly to towns and villages so that didn't happen. But...I still kept hoping...

And my patience has been rewarded.. Here they are! Right here on our road and along our lane, in patches, blowing in the breeze, a flash of brilliant red to brighten up a cloudy day! And here I am..with a sketchbook and paint palette and time on my hands! 

But have I painted a poppy? NOT! What's with THAT? Sometimes I do not understand myself...

Methinks the time has come ...but, alas, so has the rain...Perhaps painting from the photos would be a good option?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.