Towers

Blowy and damp and humid we've been catching up head wrecking stuff - Himself attempting to get through to banks and reeling from huge waits, endless muzak and frustrations! I think he achieved. He's also started proof reading the first chapter of the book, which is brilliant, but there's a long way to go, sigh. And I thought it was perfect. Not. 
Today's pic for MM with the theme of something beginning with T and I went for a small explore to check out Cúl na Long, a sort of tower house cum fortified house. Actually it's more fortified that tower but for the purpose of the challenge some poetic licence is required. It's a magnificent ruin, bristling with chimneys and machicolations, the walls incredibly thick and dating from around 1640 and now just crumbling away. I met the owner as I meandered up the boreen. He has spent the last 10 years doing up the house next to this one, also large and impressive but dating from the late 18thC. He does what he can with this one but receives no funding. 
My brother's weekly radio programme is still going and last night we tuned in. He had dedicated a song to me which begins very promisingly with the lines;
Wasn't she pretty
As she entered Cork city
He had rung me up in the morning to apologise for he'd forgotten how it rapidly deteriorates into downfall, coffins, death marches and ending up in the ground in Tipperary! It's actually one of my favourite laments, sung here by Maddie Prior and Steeleye Span. Listen here

And a reminder that Tiny Tuesday's  theme this week is Animal - it can be furry, feathered, scaly, wild, tame, real, imaginary, mythical, alive, dead - so long as it's tiny! Tag TT311

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.