Slow but hopefully sure!

This morning I spent some time pottering in the growing room and the poly tunnel, which is looking productive, at the moment! Long may it all live! My courgette and pumpkin seedlings in the growing room were in real need of transplanting from the cardboard plugs toilet roll inserts, into larger pots. I repotted them and moved them across to the poly tunnel as we are forecast no overnight frosts for the foreseeable future. I'm hoping that means we've seen the back of them until at least the Autumn, but nothing is guaranteed of course! I'm going to order some more of those large tubs and try growing a couple in the poly tunnel and the others in the garden. I think the pumpkins, if they grow to maturity, may be too large for the poly tunnel so will have to take their chances in the open ground, and battle the elements!
With my upcoming week away I am now in 'list ticking' mode. I don't mind that as I am definitely a 'list maker!' Next week can't come quick enough as mum is quite down at the moment and I think a lot of it is the uncertainty of how it's all going to work out. I keep reminding her she doesn't need to worry about anything, the rest of us have it under control, but being on her own so much of the time she has nothing else to occupy her mind. At least from next Tuesday I will spend each day with her and both Charlotte and I will spend the Friday with her before the final move on Saturday. She has lived in her current flat for 30 years and before that she lived in the same house with my dad for the previous 30 years, before his untimely death leaving her a widow before she was 60. At 91 she's finding it a little overwhelming but I'm sure she will be ok once it's all settled. Apparently there is a lovely guest flat in her new place so when lockdown is over I'll be booking myself in and spending a bit of time with mum later in the summer.
But in the meantime I must get to my 'list' and tick a few things off!
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.