ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

All Clear

Mrs C and her friend are due to go for a weeks holiday, to the Scottish island of Mull, on Saturday. Although Scotland is roughly at the same stage as England for covid restrictions, because the islands have been largely virus free they have been instructed to take lateral flow tests before travelling. The first one of those was to be done three days before, so tonight was the night.
As you can see, both tests were negative. I think we assumed they would be - both parties have had their second vaccine shots and neither has the sort of lifestyle that brings them into regular or prolonged contact with others who might be infected.
Nevertheless, I stayed outside until the tests results were in, just in case!! Actually, that is being slightly disingenuous - I was outside mowing the lawn when her friend arrived and I was still outside, cleaning the lawnmower, when she left.
They both have to take another test on Saturday morning before setting off. As we’re not planning on doing much before then, I think we can be fairly confident that test will be clear as well.
Originally, Mrs C had planned to go to Florence with her friend to celebrate her 60th birthday. That plan was swiftly changed to the Scottish islands once it became clear how bad the virus was in Italy. Of course, when the holiday was booked twelve months ago, it was not anticipated that we would only just be emerging from a four month lockdown when it came time to make the final arrangements. Never had an email been more gratefully received than the one confirming the booking and asking for payment!
I haven’t got any plans for a holiday myself this year. There are things I’d like to do but we really need the virus to be well and truly behind us before some of those things will be safe/allowed/possible without masks and social distancing. So I’m off to Chester next week to spend more time with mother. As we’ll be allowed to eat and drink inside from Monday, I might even see if I can get a meal out with her. At the very least, I’m sure we can meet for a coffee.
I shall also spend some time at our flat, completing the installation of the new washer dryer. It really needs to all come out and be refitted to get everything to line up properly. And that is something that is better done when I’m there on my own and able to leave tools and fittings strewn around the floor for a couple of days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.