Springlike!

The garden at the back of the house is still much more of a field than a garden. Over the next couple of years we intend to work on it, not trying to make it into anything really cultivated, that would mean total excavation and starting from fresh, but to work with what is already there in nature. The photo is of the naturally occurring flowering plants that are growing of their own volition! This year just paths through the grass will be cut for crossing the garden and wild flower seeds will be sown for some extra colour and attraction for the pollinators. I will be starting some flower seeds in the growing room to try and get them a bit established and not been immediately hidden by the grasses. I will even embrace the nettles this year, having read up about all the good things I can do with them! Hopefully this time next year I will have a few more than today's illustration making the garden a haven for wildlife. Watch this space!
I enjoyed my bus ride to Stanhope along with five other very jolly people and the driver, who is always so friendly and greets everybody by name! It was good to see the town, I use that term loosely as really it is just a street with shops, but a very lovely friendly street. All the shops you need for the everyday shopping we all need, and a few extra besides, like the Woollyback, a super little wool shop: every town should have one! Every shop, apart from the Co-op is independent. They all treat you with a very warm welcome and smiling faces. I love to shop there. No nail bars or tattoo shops which have quite overtaken some towns I know. 
The rest of my day was taken up with ticking 'jobs done' off my list. I have ticked all but one and also remembered I have another to add; I'm pleased with the look of a list ticked!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.