The 'Voorste Molen', Kortenhoef

'Kortenhoef' sounds like 'Kortenhoof'.
'Voorste' means 'the most forward'.  There used to be three, and this was the one 'in front'.  The other two are no more, unfortunately.  This was built in 1635.  Together with the other two, its function was to serve the Kortenhoef polder.  Really, it's a very, very watery area, and very flat, too, so there would be a lot of flooding if water levels were not maintained.  When driving on the N201 from the A2 in the direction of Hilversum, and this windmill is located close to the N201, you'll find water on both sides of the road, and then villages or hamlets built on the polders on either side.  Real Dutch countryside, so pretty (when the weather is good) and inviting.  Today, many cyclists were on the road enjoying the warm temperature, which made it all even more Dutch.  Vreeland, which I visited a short while ago, is also along this road.

This was actually another Plan B situation.  I tried Baambrugge again, but the windmill there was facing the 'wrong way' and I wanted to get onto the polder to shoot it properly, but all the drawbridges were up, which meant that everyone was at home, so there was no way of reaching the windmill from the N201.  I will need to get back to Google to see if there is a way from the other side of the polder, and study the route well.  Drawbridges?  Really?  Yes.  Really.  I'm reminded of the saying 'My home is my castle.'

The big news today is that... I got my first COVID-19 jab!  AW went with me, returning the favour when it was his turn last Saturday.  Very kind of him.  Didn't feel anything afterwards, no pain or discomfort, but, as in AW's case, it will surely come later.  Took it easy the rest of the day, except perhaps for the Moons exams for weeks 5 and 6, which I managed again to my satisfaction.  They've all been tough sets of questions and the marking is steep, which I think is a good thing.  After all, the subject matter is relatively heavy.  The hunt today took place after the jab, when I was sure I was fine and while the sun was out.

In MNL, today's hearing did not push through because the end of the Ramadan meant a holiday for everyone.  No problem.  Next week, there will be another, specifically Jay's counter to my adverse claim.  He'll need to appear.  The Viking is ready with his longbow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.