carliewired

By carliewired

Kamloops Lake

One mile wide and just
Eighteen miles long, this lake is
fed by two rivers

~ carliewired

I was up before the sun this morning. I thought I could get myself out to view Kamloops Lake before breakfast. I was off in my little red bomber to get on the TransCanada Highway heading west. 

I made the lookout at the top of the hill my first stop. I can get the long view of the lake looking east towards Kamloops. It was clear at home but somewhat overcast over the lake. It made for rather dull photos. 

My first surprise was the burned out car left at the lookout. I think it must be recent as things were sloughing off it and I could see some of the 'ash' lying about in the grass. This must have been a stolen car. There's police tape tied on it. I don't know who's responsible for removing it, but I hope it happens soon. 

I could look down to Tobiano, a resort community on the lake that opened about 2008. It is a housing development wrapped around a public golf course. This project took over the former Six Mile Ranch. Here's what happens to land in our agricultural land reserve which is meant to save agricultural land from development. It does look pretty. 

I drove down from the lookout heading west to take in more views of the lake. With a railway on both shores of the lake, one can appreciate how this lake has not been developed like other lakes. From the start, railways have enjoyed huge privilege in terms of what lands they were given and how they conduct themselves. 

I drove into Savona, a small community of 650 on the most western end of Kamloops Lake. It got its start with the railway development in 1884. Presently, it's an attractive place with one elementary school, some small businesses and housing of all kinds. I took my last shot of the public beach in Savona. It was a quiet place at 7 AM.

We're going for a high of 26 C today and a promise of 30 C on Sunday. I think it's time to start up the air conditioner! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.