Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

St Margaret’s, Antlingham

A ‘sort of’ day off.  W arranged the books on the new shelving in the lounge while I went to do the shopping.  We had a good experience this afternoon; we had ordered three ceiling lights for different rooms that we were not expecting to be delivered until June.  Mid afternoon there was a knock on the door and there they were.  I was expecting the electrician to call next week to install an extra light we wanted so I texted him to see if he could fit these at the same time; five minutes later he turned up and asked if it would be convenient to do them now!  So within 45 minutes we had three new lights delivered and fully fitted; must be a record.

On my way to the supermarket this morning I spotted what looked like an old church tower next to another, ruined, church tower just off the road.  I made a quick detour into the village for a look.  It turns out the main church is the 14th century St Marys that has been fully restored and is in use, but next to it is the ruin of St Margarets that dates back to the 12th century.  Frankly, there’s not much left of it; a tower that has full height cracks down two sides and a knave which is pretty much collapsed and full of ivy.  Being such a dangerous structure it is all fenced off, but interesting to see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.