ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Firestarter

“I’m a firestarter, twisted firestarter”
But at least this one is twisted by design. The old one was also twisted, but that was because I’d trodden on it, rather than it being made that way. And despite bending it back into shape, it never really worked as well and there always seemed to be a danger that flames might start issuing forth from the cracks in the nozzle.
So this replacement was duly purchased, and Mrs C has declared herself happy, as the flexible nozzle means it is easier to light the plethora of decorative tea lights that are dotted around the house.
And with this being the most “blip worthy” thing that has happened today, you can tell it’s not been the most exciting of days. Apart from a quick shopping trip this morning, Mrs C has spent most of the day packing for her week away. I say a week, but the amount of supplies being put into bags and boxes suggests a lot longer expedition! Apparently, because there is uncertainty over what may or may not be open, they are taking plenty of food, in case it turns into a fully self catering week. And because they’re heading to a Scottish island in May, clothing suitable for all four seasons is required. That’s me told then. I might have to review the bag of crisps and 2-3 days worth of underwear, that is the full extent of my packing for a couple of days away in Chester.
I finished the day with a good session in the gym. I’ve done at least four sessions a week for the last five weeks (since the gym reopened) so might treat myself to a few days off next week, as I’m quite knackered now! I’ll take advantage of all the flat paths in Chester and go running and walking instead.
Time now to cook tea for us. This will be my last decent meal for a week as, when I’m on my own, most of my meals tend to be microwave or pizza based. Anything that can be eaten straight out of the container is a bonus as it saves on washing up. It’s amazing how quickly I become feral without Mrs C’s civilising influence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.