VILLAGE CRICKET

The weather today was very overcast and quite chilly - but the rain held off.  So that meant the cricket match at The Glebe was able to go ahead. The home team is Whickham Cricket Club and today their second team were playing Backworth 2nds.  Unfortunately Whickham lost.

Musical link  CRICKET - by The Kinks

I have many happy memories of spending time at the cricket club over the years. Neil started playing for the Under 11s and ended up as Captain, then the Under 13's - Captain again, then on to the 3rd team, 2nd team and First team.  He was one of the youngest on the first team.  He was quite a good batsman and he was a spin bowler.  There were very few spin bowlers around and I think any batsmen from the opposition who faced Neil were always slightly worried as they were not used to a spin bowler.  Apart from watching Neil play I was involved in doing the cricket teas for a number of years.  The 2 " tea ladies " didn't have to provide the food - that was taken care of by a young A Level student who was hoping to be a caterer. She made sandwiches, pies, quiches and cakes.  I did take along a few boxes of Jaffa Cakes which were always very popular.  Those cricketers had very good appetites and there was never any left overs.

I passed the cricket club as I was going shopping in the village.  I took my photos whilst standing at the gate.  One sign of the times is a table on the right with bottles of hand sanitiser - and there was also a list where you had to add your name if you were spectating.

When I got home I watched most of the first half of the FA Cup Final - Chelsea V Leicester.  I popped out to the kitchen to do some chores at half time and when I came back the TV was showing a message " no signal" I tried all sorts to get it working but had to give up and unplug the TV.  When I went back I did a scan/'retune  but that didn't work.  So I unplugged the Freeview Box and then retuned that.  Then everything was OK.  But I had missed the second half.  When I did get the picture back I could see the Leicester players celebrating so I knew who had won.  I will catch up with the action later on Match Of The Day I guess. 

Steps today - 6,094

CORONA CLASSIC - Gerald Finzi : Eclogue for Piano and Strings

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.