Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Girls

Today's blip is a female Red bellied Woodpecker - she can be identified easily by the orange cap on the back of her head.  This particular girl doesn't have much of a red belly although you can see just a hint of reddish orange on her lower belly.  She will be the 26th addition to my visual yard bird list for this year; I will post another shot of the male one of these days.

The girls...as in girlfriends...what can I even say?  Bestie Kura got here around 1 and we headed out to a local restaurant to have lunch.  We had hoped to snag a table outside, but had to settle for socially distanced indoors with a beautiful view of the lake.  Kura was dithering over the menu options and responding to constant texts (most unusual since she isn't someone who hovers over her cell phone.)  I was smiling to myself at her un-Kura-like behavior when suddenly...in walked Peggy!  I had a half-second of total confusion (since Peg was approximately 3.5 hours from home) but then I realized why Kura was texting and dithering...my two lovely friends had planned a surprise.  And of course, Hubs had been drug into the grand deception , too.

The last few weeks have been an emotional roller coaster for me as I process the fact that my body grew a cancerous tumor.  And my friends, who have loved me for years, planned a diversion - yes, they knew exactly what I needed.  We spent the afternoon on the deck sharing memories, laughing, doing what friends do.  Hubs prepared a wonderful dinner, followed by brownies for desert and lots of Prosecco and crisp rose along the way.  

This morning, Hubs again took on the kitchen duties with scrambled eggs, turkey bacon, melon and toast.  And then we girls got to the serious business of a scorching round of Mexican Train Dominoes, which I won, for a change.  Lots of hugs as we said goodbye.  The only member of our little Posse missing was Ellen who was out of town on business.  Next time.

I've said it before, but it bears saying again - my life is so enriched by the friendships I've made over the years.  These particular women have been in my life longer than my husband - they knew me in the single years and were at my side right through my wedding and into married life.  Hubs knew when he married me that it was a package deal - and I think we've all been enriched.

So, a huge thank you to my besties for always having my back.

Stay safe, be kind, hugs your friends, and definitely indulge in something chocolate!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.