Feeding after sunset

A quiet morning in which I zoned out with the Guardian Prize cryptic (two clues remain unsolved). Daughter J came up for midday dinner, and then a talk about what has to be done (e.g. replace the ceiling tiles as they contain asbestos) to the new home before we can move in. Also about what then, as S and J have some different ideas. And then there's my own input. I'm confident that it will work out and we will all be happy with the outcome.

Just before sunset, I headed down the steps to Southend, where the tide was almost fully out. Not many birds and I took a number of scenery shots as the sun rapidly fell below the horizon. Set off to round the point and run along Fidelis Beach, and back before mounting the steps back home. 

Which was when a white-faced heron flew over to the shallow channel through which water flows rapidly at the change of the tide. The heron very thoughtfully moved into the reflection of the sky seen from where I was standing, and then provided an excellent silhouette in profile. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.