ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Appetite for Destruction

“Before one can create, one must first destroy”. Or words to that effect. At the moment we’re looking at the aftermath of the destruction with only very little creation having taken place.
I’ve mentioned before that we had a new sink and washing machine fitted at our flat during lockdown, but that I have never been really happy with either installation. Taking advantage of being here on my own, I pulled the washer out and disconnected it. Then I loosened all the sink fittings, scraped off the old silicone sealer that was stopping it sitting correctly and then tightened everything up again. It now sits snugly on the worktop and there aren’t any gaps along the front thanks to being properly aligned with the edge of the worktop. I’ve even glued on a bit of replacement trim to cover the damage caused when the old sink was removed.
Next job is to securely fix the base board for the washer to stop the wobbles on the spin cycle! Finally, the washer will be refitted and tested before I fit the door to complete the integrated look. Can’t do that for a while yet though, as there was a mini flood when I was trying to disconnect the waste hose. I need the floor to dry out fully before I start working in that area.
To fill the time, I’ve taken on the thankless task of trying to repair some ornaments that my sister has managed to break. I don’t think one will ever look right, but I’m quite pleased with how the other one is turning out. Just got to be careful not to try and stick too many pieces together at once.
Not sure I’ll get everything done tonight so might leave the washer until tomorrow morning. I was going to go for a walk, but it’s looking a bit grey out there and I can hear rumbles of thunder.
And, following an upset stomach after last night’s tea, I’m having far healthier fare tonight. Chicken salad and a ciabatta should compensate for the overdose of sugary things yesterday. I don’t need to cook anything either. Which is probably just as well as I’m not sure I’ve got full access to the cooker at the moment!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.