JeanSnaps

By JeanSnaps

Empid fly............. unless you know different.

Slept late this morning. Goodness knows why. I was in bed fairly early.  It must have had a good effect as I loaded all the stumps into the car to take to the recycling tomorrow, cleaned the bathroom, did some washing and spent most of the day in the garden. The difference there isn't noticeable but I have got rid of all the shepherd's purse I could see. There's always been a lot in the garden but it has got less over the years.
Didn't want to go out in a car full of stumps so I wandered round the garden looking for insects but there was nothing to be seen. Emma was out taking in washing as it looked like rain and Courtney was in a chatty frame of mind. Full of questions.  What was that round my neck ?   What was I doing ?  I eventually found one tiny fly on my woolly willow and had trouble answering Courtney and focusing at the same time.  However she got fed up with me when the sun came out and the sun made bees appear on the cotoneaster on the house wall so I was clicking away for some time.
Came indoors and was surprised to find the fly photos were sharp.  Checked it out in my insect book and it looks as if it is an Empid fly, 10-12mm long which feeds on nectar and other insects. There are about fifty different varieties.  There's another view of it in the extras,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.