The jobby

I had a feeling I had blipped something very like this before, or maybe just taken the picture and stowed it somewhere, but I cannot find it anywhere, so here goes (again, if necessary). A blip of a couple of monstrosities: Henry Dundas on his column and the golden jobby. Taken from the top of the Number 11, coming back from Bruntsfield.

I popped over to Bruntsfield to see CB and A, for a cup of tea, in their newly renovated front garden. We were prepared to do “inside with windows open” if necessary, but it wasn’t. I had planned to cycle, but the weather was looking dodgy just as I was thinking of leaving, so I took the Number 36 up there, and the Number 11 back. I was rather glad I did. I do like a good bus journey through the city. Anyway, I had a great natter and catch up with CB and A, and the conversation did range more broadly than just talking about the pandemic and what we hope is its gradually emerging aftermath (although, who knows?).

Mr A stayed home, but he’s been getting excited by the idea of journeying once again, after I sent him an interesting blog which I came across on my way home, about the importance of the journey as well as the destination. Well, I rather agree with that, as I said, given how interesting I find it to travel across Edinburgh, especially when the light is good. It was fascinating to see the transformation of different parts of town. Princes Street is awful, with a high percentage of empty shops. George Street has been turned into cafe bar heaven, with a large number of wooden fixtures out on the street (I was thinking, from the safety of the top of the bus, how vulnerable they looked, with plenty of motor vehicle traffic around…). The destination was, however, also interesting. Compared to Leith, Bruntsfield feels like a different country, full of pavement cafes, and chi chi shops where a single peony stems costs £7.50….

This may be a rather poor quality photo, as it’s a crop out of a much wider image, but you have to use whatever camera you have with you, and in my case I had the 11-22 lens on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.