Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Behind the Wheel

A pretty quiet Sunday. 
Mr K and I took Archie out for a walk and, of course, the heavens opened about fifteen minutes from the car. Chuffing weather!
Archie wasn't complaining though, the wetter and muddier the better for him!
We watched a few more episodes of The Photography (as we call any TV talent/craft competition - the dancing, the baking, the pottery, the cooking...... We have yet to start on the jewellery!) 
It was the human body week and Miss E was very mature and sensible about the amount of wobbly bits on show. 
Very quiet though!!!!
Then it was to rock climbing with her. And a fun hour and a half in the car for me listening to Audible. She enjoyed it more than last week, one of her old instructors was running the class and she got to do some more challenging climbs of her own choice. 
And she also got to drive my car afterwards which made her giddy!! There are a load of industrial units next to the climbing place with huge empty car parks. I promised her ages ago that if I could find a suitable place then she could have a go driving and just as we were leaving tonight I realised it would be perfect.
She was amazing!!! My car's an automatic so she just had to master the brake. I told her we'd move with her foot off the brake so she didn't need to worry about the accelerator.
After one or two jerky stops she got the hang of it brilliantly and cruised 100m down to the end. Then she did a pretty impressive three point turn and headed back up. 
Then, most amazing of all, she said she wanted to park. She pointed to a bay on the right but then steered left, I said "Oh, I thought you were parking there" pointing the other way. She replied breezily "I am, I'm going in backwards like you do"
And she did!! Check out extras for some pretty decent parking!!
Unfortunately she also turned the wheel like I do rather than a more conventional learner-esque ten-to-two position. I told her she mustn't learn bad habits.
Her face was a picture once we swapped back. She was so pleased with herself!
Only four years to wait until she can have proper lessons.......
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.