Seven Pink Ladies: Cypripedium Acaule

There are many names for these pink beauties, including moccasin flower and lady's slipper. Cypripedium acaule are actually native orchids, and they grow wild in the nearby Scotia Barrens.

I found my first green twist of basal leaves a few weeks ago. Then pale green flowers. And now they are all turning to bright pink. These woods are full of them.

It was Sunday morning, and T. Tiger and I took my bike to the gamelands, where we could hang out among the lady's slippers. For the Tiger, surprisingly enough, gets along VERY well with them.

I went to my usual spot and photographed a bunch of them. And then I remembered what the guy I ran into last week had said, and I followed a side trail up the hill to find even MORE. (Thank you, random guy, for the tip.)

It's hard to believe the excitement of it: you visit your local woods, which is just woods and trees and all. And there, tucked in among the roots of everything, along the ground, there are all these pink blooms. And then you look and there are even more.

Fantastic! Wow! What a great time for lady's slipper!

There are seven of these pink beauties in this photo, and so my soundtrack song is this one: Alison Krauss and Jamey Johnson, with Seven Spanish Angels. As a bonus, here is the original version of the song performed by Willie Nelson and Ray Charles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.