Life Savors

By osuzanna

Brood X Emerging

I have been searching for Cicadas in the yard the last few days but had only looked in the backyard.  Today I got serious about it and found that one of the trees in our front yard was covered in exoskeletons, emerging and newly emerged.  Here is a LINK to a gorgeous video explaining this phenomenon of the Seventeen Year Cicada.  

We moved into our house in 1984.  Our entire neighborhood had been under construction from 1968 to 1970 so the ground had been totally disrupted.  When the cicadas emerged in 1987, we did not have any, although many older neighborhoods did.  As a result of that, when they returned in 2004, we only had a few, but it appears that now, 17 years later again, we will have plenty.  I estimate that there were thousands of them on just that one tree today, with just as many exoskeletons on the ground. 

My blip is of two cicadas emerging from their exoskeleton.  The whole process seems to take about 15-20 minutes.  Be sure to view it in large and also view the video in large. I have loaded an extra of a newly emerged Brood X Cicada with its wings unfurled, but before the shell hardens.  I think they are quite beautiful and I am absolutely fascinated.  I may feel differently in a few weeks and I am sure I will be grateful for our screened porch.  

I have also included a map in extra that shows where and when this occurs.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.