ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Black Velvet.

I know it sounds disgusting, but these cakes are made with Guinness and chocolate. I promise it doesn't taste boozy or bitter, the Guinness just gives the sponge an extra richness, and the bubbles give it an extra lightness. The recipe is here - and it's the best chocolate cake recipe I have found (they don't tell you how much bicarb to use so I missed it out and there was no problem). I made these wee treats last night for Mum to take back on the train with her today (there's enough for Dad, too. If they survive the journey)!

Today Mum is getting a train back to Harrogate. It's been a great weekend, and yesterday we had a lovely dinner at Jewel in the Crown. Mum bought M and I a bottle of my favourite Williams apple gin to say thank you for the weekend, but we've also enjoyed it immensely. It's so nice to be able to offer someone a proper bed in an actual spare guest room!

While Mum packs, I'm updating my Blip and drinking coffee. We're going out for lunch at The Courtyard in a wee bit, although we're going to brave the cold for a walk around Duthie Park first. I've taken a half-day at work so I'll be going in later, when Mum catches her train.

This evening I'll be going out to see A and baby toddler F, who I've not seen since his birthday. Can't wait to see her new diamond ring!

(Last year's photo was taken on a supersunny and warm day... What a difference 365 days makes... The snow is lying on the ground today!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.