JeanSnaps

By JeanSnaps

An unknown wee beastie.

The plan was housework as the forecast was heavy rain and my knee needed a rest from gardening.  However the sun was out so I went into the garden to find a photo while it was still shining.  Very few insects around and all of them tiny and unknown to  me. Checked them out in my insect book to no avail.
The postie arrived with parcels and we ended up having a long chat.  She is going to Galloway in a week or so for the first time. I worked there in the 1970's for a year and have been back on holiday nearly every year since.  We seem to be pretty much on the same wave length so I expect she'll love it and began to feel envious.  Gave me a push to think about holidays.
The sun kept shining and I kept scanning the garden with my camera then dug out a patch of nettles I've been meaning to tackle. Caught a glimpse of red and discovered some cardinal beetles mating on the turk's cap lilies.  They weren't exactly making it public and I left them alone.
Chatted to Emma and Courtney and handed over the books.  I do like giving children books and I think Emma understands.
At this point housework came to mind.  Downstairs got a long delayed dust  and another parcel arrived.  Turned out to be a garden mobile. I hadn't ordered it but it was addressed to me and I think it may have been from Emma because I sent her flowers.  Hung it from a tree branch and got my camera to take a photograph.  Coming back I tripped on a paving stone, went flying,  knocking over two plant containers and landing on my bad leg.  Lay there unable to get up for the pain then gradually moved into a sitting position where I stayed waiting for the pain to subside.  I think my wonky knee hit the ground first.  Getting up from the ground with a knee replacement isn't easy but I know the technique and made it to my feet.  Everything functioned OK so I took my photos and went slowly back to the house. Decided a drink was called for so had the remaining fruit gin and lay on the sofa with an ice pack.  No peace. A parcel arrived.  My plants from the Hardy Geranium Nursery.  Opened the box, put it outside and went back to the sofa.
Later I remembered a walk. Reckoned, since more than an hour had passed and my little bottle of gin had been marked as one unit I was safe to drive.  Parked in Auchtermuchty and walked to the dentists surgery for a look. It appears to be functioning.  Ended up chatting for ages to a couple who live nearby. The husband had lost an arm in a farm accident but still worked there.  He had a great attitude and hadn't let it stop him living life to the full.  Makes you realise how small your own problems are in comparison.

Thanks to Being here I now know it is a strawberry vine weevil.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.