Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Off to the Races

Hubs and I made our first trip to the Cancer Center today to meet with the head of Radiology, Dr Kathy Lo. I was a bundle of nerves by the time we got there, as proven by abnormally high BP on arrival. However, the radiology nurse, Diane, quickly put me at ease and walked through everything that I should expect over the course of radiation. Then we met with the doctor, and then off I went to get scanned and “tattooed”.

So Monday morning I will start radiation, five days a week until I’ve completed 21 treatments. I will meet with the doctor every Monday unless there are any complications. I shouldn’t see any side effects for the first week or so, then probably skin irritation/rashes/mild fatigue. All can be managed and I’ve got a shopping list all ready for various lotions, creams and soaps. Which I can carry in this handy little canvas bag. A cancer souvenir - how bizarre.

So it’s off to the races. I’m nervous but also ready to get this next step underway.

No birds or bugs or cats today. When I look back on my journal in years to come, this is the moment I want to capture. I will return to regularly scheduled programming tomorrow.

Im also meeting up with a couple of my birder friends tomorrow morning which will be a nice diversion. It’s going to be hot tomorrow - high 80’s - so I don’t know how long we will stay out.

Keep safe, be kind, I will leave the choice of chocolate up to you today...

Xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.