Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Spoonies

Hillyblips, Hubs, the Sefferdogs and I all met at the Rookery in St. Augustine this morning.  It was another hot day but we managed about 2 1/2 hours in the rookery, which is one of my Happy Places.  I love the sounds (and even the smells) of the rookery - the endless squawks and begging of young birds, the endless hustle and bustle of parents trying to keep the youngsters fed, the occasional altercations between birds vying for top nesting spots.  Not surprisingly, it ended up being just Hilly and I standing out in the blazing sun, cameras glued to our eyes.  We both ended up taking a bit over 600 shots.

We bid a somewhat teary farewell to Hilly and Hubs with tentative plans to meet up in the fall when they next visit Baby B, the grandest of grandsons.  They should be arriving any time now at their son's place.  

I had a hard time choosing a blip today but ended up with the baby roseate spoonbills because they are just such unusual birds.  I managed to get one poor photo of a just-hatched spoonie, eyes still sealed shut.  Two runner-up shots in Extra.  Baby Great Egrets having a sibling spat and a so-ugly-it's-cute tricolor heron.  

For a funny scene of yours truly, check out Sefferdog's Blip and don't forget to check in later to see what Hilly posts.

Tomorrow will be a travel day so I'll probably doing a iPhone blip.

Thanks for coming along on my Florida getaway!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.