Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

The North Fork of the Edisto River

We headed out early to go to the blueberry/strawberry farm someone had told me about  to get fresh berries and realized it was close to the Edisto Memorial Garden in Orangeburg.  So a side trip on what is probably going to be the last day of spring weather as our temperature is climbing higher every day and this girl does not like the heat or the humidity.   Not much humidity yet which is a good thing.

The garden is full of azaleas and roses as well as a great boardwalk along the Edisto River.  The azaleas were already bloomed out but we did seem some roses.   This is a black water river which is so named since it flows through a swampy area where the water turns acidic and seems to look like black tea.   Which means the reflections of the trees and sky in the water was so very beautiful.     This collage is some of the scenes along the walk.   

In the extra are some of the roses that were blooming now.  (excuse the stupid logo in the corner of the one photo!  I wasn't paying attention to what was there and should have used a different grid).      There were so many not blooming yet that I almost want to go back to see them.  They also smelled great which is unusual as most roses that I have seen around gardens do not have any of the great scent.   These must be "heirloom" roses.   

After we got our berries and talked with the nice man there we found a place to grab a sandwich and heading on home before the heat got too bad.     Then I did something that I don't ever do...I took a nap!   Did not sleep well last night and it just caught up with me.     Later I had enough energy to cut the grass in the whole yard.    Maybe it will help me to sleep better tonight.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.