Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Sometimes you get what you wish for

I have been wanting it to rain as it has been over thirty days here without rain that amounted to anything.  You might have read that in my posts!

 So yesterday after lunch it started raining and rained hard.    Then it cleared up a little and then right at bedtime (11pm) it thundered and lightninged and rained buckets again.    This morning it was cloudy and I was able to get my walk done.     I had to go for my mammogram at 1:30 plus a stop at the grocery store and the mail center to mail a book to a friend.    Of course, when I was in the grocery store, the bottom fell out of the clouds and there was standing water above my ankles in the parking lot.    As I made my way to the mammogram, the rain stopped just long enough for me to get in and out of that place.    Going home I saw this big black cloud!    Yes, by the time I made it home which was only few miles, this cloud had dumped more rain.   It was overflowing in ditches and everywhere on the roads.   Our yard looked like a pond but by the time I drove up but at least the rain had mostly stopped...for just a short time.  Then it started all over again dumping in buckets.     Now at 5pm the blue sky is showing up!    But more rain is in the forecast!  So I got what if wanted and then some!  

My flowers and tomato plants are loving it.  I am so glad I thought to put some dry plant food on them yesterday so now it is good and wet and should feed them all well.     If they don't drown!    

In the extra is a great crested flycatcher!  Not the best photo but a first sighting of this bird for me!  Thanks to Wade and Deb B. for the id!!    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.