Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Woodpeckers like peanut butter

My suet cake was eaten up and I did not have any here and did not want to go to the store just for suet so I looked up online how to make something for the holder.    I found out about using a pine cone coated with peanut butter and then rolled in the bird seed.  It works!!    This woodpecker has been coming every day!    

Today I noticed it was cleaned off so I recoated it and made a second one to put side by side in the holder.   This guy has been coming around all afternoon!   

In another bird adventure, the brown thrasher crashed into the window early afternoon and broke its neck.  I was so hoping it was just stunned but when I picked it up its neck just drooped.   Broke my heart as we have had the brown thrasher here for several years.  I had a burial service for it.    I sure hope they have already fledged the nest of babies that I think were in the azalea.   That is where I have seen them flying in and out of but not so much recently.   Hoping the single bird will find a mate and keep living in our yard.

We finally had a really good rain this afternoon.  I can see the brown grass/weeds already starting to look greener!   And I know my tomatoes and flowers will like rain water better than well water!!

Have a good week blippers!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.