Show and Tell.

At this morning's coffee and chat group we had a show and tell time. We shared images that meant something to us.

As the weather is dire out there, and I'm stuck for a blip, I've decided to share my images here, although it was only two each this morning, I'm adding a few more here.

This was the boarding school I attended for a while, I came from a military family and had a very disrupted education, so it was decided my sister and I would go to the 'Royal Victoria Patriotic School' in Essendon, Herts. It was a military school for children of those in the armed services.

I'd been given a camera for Christmas when I was 10 years old. A Kodak brown 127 I think. I am so glad I took it to school with me as I have wonderful pictures of my time there. Of course, a film with 12 images was all I had each term, and I had to wait until the holidays to get this precious film developed. How spoilt we are now!

The reason these images meant so much to me will become clear in my first extra. I would climb this Fir tree and at the very top the trunk divided into three branches, us girls named this 'the armchair'. I would sit in the armchair, swaying in the breeze (at that height there was always a breeze!) This was the view of my school from there.

The picture of the two girls, one of whom I'm still in contact with, over 50 years on, is the base of the tree.

I've added a couple of others of friends at the school I remember I wanted to capture the 'St Trinian's' vibe of us all. I think I managed it! Looks like I managed a selfie shadow in one. 

Good to record them here as they are looking a bit dog-eared now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.