Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Sky View

(20/5/21)

A quick blip of one of the newer Address hotels taken from my window whilst stopped at traffic lights. I was on a road I've not been on before and this is the closest I've been to this building...

So, the day started fairly normal and then rapidly fell apart. I had my second physio appointment for my hand. I was sitting waiting when the Receptionist of the clinic called me on my phone to say that I can't receive treatment because my insurance has expired. I am in the process of renewing it so wasn't surprised. I said I'd get back in touch once it is sorted.

Whilst waiting, I found a message on my phone congratulating me on winning a prize on the radio. I don't recall the incident but followed the instruction to send an email to claim my prize!! I then dropped G to work and sat in The Mall for a bit.

Back to G and we raced over to the Aviv Clinic in JLT. If it wasn't for the lady we met with yesterday (Beth from Wonersh), we would never know of this place. You can read about what they do here. (They offer 5-star hyperbaric services. I guess Dubai is the perfect place for them to be!

I won't go into the detail, but we weren't able to meet with Beth to take her back to her hotel. (She had asked me to book her a taxi, but I offered to do the job myself). We reverted to Plan A and booked her a "People of Determination" taxi and started to wend our way back home. We stopped at a service station for some lunch and then came back the scenic route. I have to say, it felt really hot. Over 40degC today.

I made a start on the captioning (subtitles) job that I said "yes" to a couple of weeks ago. It is, er, laborious. Thankfully, the subject is interesting (Lean Management) so I am learning a lot as I go along.

We heard later that Beth had a meeting so couldn't wait for the taxi I organised, so she found her own way back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.