Let There Be light

Goodness me, what have we done to deserve this weather! It’s not only dismally wet today it’s unseasonably cold into the bargain.

In the hey days of the 60s, I remember my parents going on holiday to the Highlands at this time of year and having heatwaves.
May and June were the hotter summer months then, just as the exam season started for students and studying was such a chore when the rest of the world was out soaking up the sunshine.

My podiatrist (such a much nicer word than chiropodist which smacks of old age) told me this morning as she wielded her scalpel at my unsuspecting feet that it was the coldest, wettest May for 40 years. I just wish she didn’t feel she had to look me in the eye as she said this instead of watching what she was doing. However, no blood was spilt and I danced home in the rain on happy feet, but which are now refusing to go out again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.