JeanSnaps

By JeanSnaps

The new teahouse.

A lovely day in spite of rain.  A peaceful morning just breakfasting and getting ready in waterproof gear to go and meet Veda at the Japanese garden.  The weather had put people off I think as there was hardly anyone there. We had a nice chatty lunch in the well spaced out cafe by which time it had brightened up slightly and we were able to walk round the garden without being rained upon.  Work is progressing on the tea house.  The thatched roof is beautiful and the workmen are are now on to the inside.
Azaleas were out and some new young cherry trees were still in bloom.  Swallows were skimming over the water but I only managed to catch a chaffinch masquerading as one.  Collecting nest material I think.
Eventually it began to rain again so we went down the lime avenue to the car park.  Veda was going to Jamesfield garden centre which isn't far from Falkland so I followed her.  So pleased I did as they had a great selection of perennials. I bought blue lupins and white foxgloves and Veda bought a long handled bulb planter.  Then we retreated to the cafe where she had hot chocolate, I had a double espresso and we both had homemade shortbread. I haven't had a day like that since last summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.