JeanSnaps

By JeanSnaps

St Mark's fly.

Slept very late. I'm suffering from all the walking I did yesterday and made things worse by going out and planting the foxgloves and lupins I bought.  Watered them in thoroughly and laid out the geraniums where I want to plant them but thankfully left that for another day.  Did my Saturday chores and by that time was good for nothing but lying on the sofa with a heat pack.
Managed to take myself into the garden to photograph later.   Bees and a few hornets on the cotoneaster but I liked the St Mark's fly better.  Had to check it out in my insect book.  Apparently it likes hawthorn and there's some just over the fence in the school playing field.  It gets its name because hawthorn starts flowering  around April 25th, St Mark's Day. St Mark is the patron saint of many things one of them being people with insect bites.
Retired to the sofa once more feeling a bit miserable then drove round to the village shop and bought some wine as a treat.  At least I managed to keep away from the crisps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.