Life In Wales

By KarenC

Vicky

I was back at the Zoo this morning, but what a day - it rained the whole time I was there!  For the first hour I went for a walkabout and Margaret was happy for me to take my camera, as long I was happy to stop and talk to visitors if they wanted to ask anything. I'd sent her some of my photos from last week, which she's passed to the marketing manager and they've asked if I'd be happy for them to us on their social media.  Of course I've said yes.  I didn't take many photos though as the rain got really heavy.

Margaret asked me to meet her at the chimp house at 10.30am and I was pleased about this as it's probably the only indoor area in the zoo that I can monitor as a volunteer.  Jayne, one of the other volunteers was there and she knows the chimps quite well, having worked with them, and Tuppence was sat in the window and kept pointing at Jayne's phone.  So Jayne got the photos of Tuppence that she took last week and showed her, you could see that she was really interested looking at them, and then she pointed at my phone, so I did the same.  The interaction is amazing!

I spent most of my shift in the chimp house and once I'd finished I went back to the car to get my camera.  It was difficult to get decent shots as the light wasn't great and not only that, but I had to take the photos through two layers of glass.  Vicky was playing and was constantly on the move, but I love this photo of her.

I didn't hang around for long today as I was freezing cold, but I needed a few bits so I stopped off at Aldi on the way home. I intended to have a relaxing afternoon, but somehow that didn't happen - I did a bit of cleaning, prepared the dinner, and I eventually sat down just before 5pm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.