Capital adventures

By marchmont

Wet, wet, wet

It rained, all day. I drove to the pool and when I got back there was a lorry delivering materials to J and G over the road. They are also having their front garden done. Then the lorry and grabber arrived to pick up the pile of earth etc from my drive. That did a good job of blocking the road. I think the men had come and gone while I was in the pool. Things had been moved. By that time I had my own pool in my front.

I caught up with some stuff in the morning including the call I missed yesterday, the first 1-1 College interview and organising a quote for the work at the Manor. Outside it rained, heavily, and the wind blew and more and more leaves came down. At least the cold, wet weather will support the plants I had to lift. Willow was a very wet moggy at times.

At lunchtime, in full wet weather gear, I drove down to the Wisp to pay for the materials with a trip to Lidl on the way home then beans on toast for a late lunch. I'd planned to sit and sew but I ended up doing a bit of tidying, some Choir admin, printing out stuff for Mum and setting up Zoom virtual backgrounds with my own photos.

I found myself avoiding the news with all the BBC/Bashir stuff. I feel for Prince William and I can understand why he must have hoped his parents marriage would repair, I'm sure my kids had similar thoughts, but I fear that was a vain hope. It was broken from day 1.

And then it was time to Zoom. The Valentines left early, as they were going out for a family dinner (!) in Udny Green and the Leasks left early as usual. They are off to meet the Valentines and a Clark tomorrow at Barra Castle. The other Clark is a Hibee so guess what he'll be doing. The Craigs were fulminating as Glasgow had stayed in level 3 whilst East Ren has remained down in level 2. I was just me. However, the last half hour there were just 5 of us, much quieter, calmer conversation.

After dinner I found myself really tired. It was still raining, though not as heavily. I gave up and went to bed, even before HIGNFY.

F2F - 2
Phone calls - 6
Virtual - 2

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.