A day in the life

By Shelling

Birthday

I celebrated my 68th birthday today. Brilliant, sunny day, the plan is to treat a few of my friends to coffee and rhubarb pie outdoors in the garden.

The first hour at breakfast went to reading and answering birthday greetings, I feel blessed to still have some former students remembering and greeting me on my day. Then, an hour and a half to prepare the pie and lay the table. I was ready only five minutes before my guests arrived. While I was making the coffee they immediately started talking and having a good time so the rest of the afternoon went smoothly and the rhubarb pie was a success.

I showed them a part of the old stone building, that long ago was used as accomodation for the elders, a kind of pension lodging,  and sometimes also used as a spare kitchen, notice the baking-oven. Apart from a kitchen there is another room as well, heated by a tiled stove and next to that, a room for doing the laundry in a huge firewood heated cauldron to boil the water in. We've come a long way in our pension system since then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.