The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Walk like a gaucho

Yesterday I showed the Shambles outdoor market after it had been packed up, looking down from the church hall towards the High Street. Here it is being set up, looking down from the High to St Laurence's church and the church hall, where the indoor market is held. The CoVid barriers for queueing are hideous, but in time they'll look historically interesting, like sandbags during WWII.

We all had a better day today. I didn't take as much as last Saturday, but the crowds were back, and people were shopping in groups, touching things. Good sign. They were also keen to make the most of my good deals, in some cases clubbing together to save £1. I may have to suspend one of the lesser deals, or I won't make any money at all. I'd brought work to do, because yesterday had been so quiet, but it was hard to fit it in. Managed in the end, and we stayed a bit longer this time, past three pm. Even when we put the Def Leppard track on, which is our code to start packing up, customers kept coming.

When I got home I unpacked and went to bed because I had a nasty sore throat. I had done a CoVid home test last night, so I know it wasn't that. I've now taken a Beecham's powder and a hayfever tablet but I still have a sore throat and fatigue. Ah well ..

Meanwhile in Scotland, my youngest sister reports having had her second Oxford A-ZJag and feeling 'old and freezing'. Our mother has given her a tea cosy to wear on her head (of course!) and youngest son/grandson is cooking mince for our mother's tea. I thought he lived in Glasgow. Never mind, we're all still alive, that's the main thing.

If donating blood is something to look forward to, I'd say I've been looking forward to my appointment next Thursday. Having a couple of random ailments and taking tablets has probably ruled this out now. That's the problem with making appointments months in advance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.