The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The Shambles in the rain

If you look carefully at the wall, below the more recently-bricked section, you'll see that there are some wooden structures, like scaffolding planks, attached to the wall. They are in fact the original fold-out market stalls. Right now there aren't too many outdoor market stalls on a Friday: just the veg, the organic veg, the cheese, the home baker...I hope there'll soon be more, when social distancing restrictions are lifted, whenever that happens. Saturdays are more lively.

The Friday market inside the church hall, where my card stall is located, has six stalls at present on both days (and sometimes the watch battery man as well, operating from the kitchen, through the retro serving hatch). We hope to have more stalls back inside, soon. The weather was gusty, squally, generally awful. Certainly bad enough to deter any would-be customers. I was glad to have some filing and indexing to do, even though my fingers were going numb with cold. Sales were exceedingly poor, and I only gave away one catalogue and a couple of business cards. Ah well ..

Afterwards I met up with a friend, J, and we decided to visit a recently -reopened cafe to offer support. A couple of cuppas later, we checked out some charity shops, some cheap shops, the expensive shop (Waitrose), before eventually making tracks to our respective homes. I got a pair of Hotter indoor clogs from one of the charity shops. I say suitable for indoor wear, because the streets of town are currently too wet for the wearing of clogs. This month is probably going to be the wettest May on record in the UK.

And now we're watching a History of the Eurovision song contest. After the Missing Year of 2020, it's that time again. Fortunes, and futures, hang in the balance.

In other news, I have a new pedometer gadget. Fed up of the failures of individual phone apps, I'm giving the gizmo a go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.