OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Wake

It was such a beautiful morning that I decided it was a good day to visit Hoy, especially as some orcas had been seen recently in Bring Deeps.
I didn't have any luck whalewise, but a great day. I walked from Moaness south along the road, shedding thermals as I went. On the way I saw a male merlin and ringtail (ie juvenile or female) hen harrierand a white spot in the heather turned out to be a mountain hare in full snow camouflage- only there wasn't any snow.
I got to Lyrawa Hill, then cut down the hill to the WWII anti-aircraft site at Scad Head, then up the track to the road and back. I didn't really have time to go along the clifftops, so I'll come back for that. The cliffs have features like a stack called Candle of the Sale, also there are: Red geo, White Breast, and Nose of the Bring. On the way back the weather became more wintry with showers of snow and hard, painful hail. The image is of the wake as we left Stromness. More images here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.