Has anyone seen the sun today?

Midsummer's day is the 24th June ....................It feels more like soggy September. All the growing has slowed up, both on the plot, and in the greenhouse. I can tell just by looking at them that my cucurbits are in no hurry to venture outside, & who can blame them. I don't want to go out in it either given a choice.
Mrs Robin has a lovely dry home in the plot shed, I bet she's glad she's not stuck in the hedge blowing around soaking wet through. I went up this morning just to check if any damage had been done in the last 24hours. I bought a new padlock for the tool allotment shed yesterday as the old one has fallen apart, so replaced that, tied some old cd's to canes to dot about the plot, not sure what was on the cd's but if these don't work I'll dig out some Des O'Connor see if they are more effective.
Walked Indie over the heath, got caught in one heavy shower then the skies brightened. Back at Mum's had a coffee, had a go at teh jigsaw puzzle for an hour, 500 down, 500 to go I reckon or might be 300 done, 700 to go. Mum's been having a little go everyday so that's good, what's bad is that she does'nt seem to find many pieces to fit ... Hey ho!!! I had to sort her shower out this morning. The settings were all wrong after the mid week plumbing dilemma so she did'nt have her shower. THEN i had to look at the washing machine ... the spin is'nt working. I wish she'd mentioned it to my brother when he popped in for 20MINUTES on Friday, but she' did'nt. I could'nt get the kick plate to see if the filter is behind, so another Google search later to see if it's an easy fix.
Spent an hour or so in the greenhouse this afternoon, first planting up one of my summer hanging baskets - acid pinks & lime greens :-D I love that colour combo, then pricking out Purple sprouting broccoli seedlings, hollyhocks, sunflowers, & tithonia. The rain lashing down as I faffed.
Off to get dinner started now before Countryfile. Baked ham, root veggies, & roast spuds with a cider & wholegrain mustard sauce tonight.

Thanks to Marlieske for hosting Derelict Sunday Today's blip is the collection of nails etc. found in the garden at No81, taken from the greenhouse door during the rain this afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.