The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Bliss In A Jar

We eat a lot of salads in my house. One of my favorite ingredients to experiment with is butternut squash. Recently, I came upon a lovely salad recipe from The Foodie Physician. Yes, she is a real MD, and one of the most creative recipe developers of healthy food. She is a star.

I also have a friend named Tom, who writes about food and film. He is a successful screenwriter and director, and a Texan with a taste for great, healthy food. We've shared recipes together, and his version of using squash in a salad included red onion and bacon. Yum! He is also a star!

Tom has written two great pieces from a series entitled, "Never, Ever, Ever...." The first part is Salad Dressings, and shows the reader how simple it is to make this at home rather than from a bottle. I highly recommend this guy's blog.

Sonali, has an amazing salad with one of the tastiest dressings I have ever made. The secret ingredient is Maple Syrup! I highly suggest her recipe, Roasted Butternut Squash Salad. It is wonderful.

As a child, my mom always made her own dressing, be it Italian, her version of Russian Dressing, or the occasional Green Goddess. Bottled dressings were not allowed in her home.

I have recently admitted to buying broth in a box to my friend Tom, and will say that although I make my own salad dressings 90% of the time, there are a few bottled flavors that I crave. Oops! There I go admitting I have my weaknesses.

No matter what your beliefs in food are, tonight, we are enjoying "Bliss In a Jar" salad dressing, complete with Maple Syrup. I have added some red onion and bacon to Sonali's recipe, and have Tom to thank for shaming me into saving my old pickle jars again.

Eat well and prosper.

Much love,

Mel

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.