The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Weedy

The garden has run away already.

I feel a bit better today. I took some of the miracle tablets (the ones with caffeine in them) and they seem to have helped. But I'm suspicious, because I was feeling not so bad at 7am today, then ropey again by 8.45.

My appetite has returned. Praise be! I've asked a friend to get some food for me in town, and meanwhile I discovered a gluten free, dairy free pizza in the freezer. It's now in the toaster oven. This saves me from having to cook, or think. I took another lateral flow test for CoVid, because I now have a dry cough, but it showed negative I think I'm going to survive this one.

Later: GF, DF pizza tastes a bit like what I think baby food might taste like. Entirely the wrong consistency. But it's food, and my friend is bringing GF pies later. I also have a Zoom later, so I've even got dressed (if long johns and a grey top count as being dressed. I've watched a lot of dramas lately featuring people in grey prison-issue sweatshirts).

I've also realised that it may be possible, via Amazon fire TV, to watch Great Engineering projects - or is is Abandoned Engineering? on the Nerd Channel. It's one of my lesser-known vices. On a trip to the central belt during a soggy October in 2014, my elder sister, who blips as TMLHereandThere, was thrilled to see the Kelpies for the first time. I was too, don't get me wrong, but the Falkirk Wheel (boat lift that joins two canals) absolutely took my breath away. The simplicity and elegance of it! The fact that it only uses minimal power and the principle of the Archimedes screw...excuse me while I go straight to the Nerd and Wheel Channel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.