Tiny Tuesday - "Mineral"

Many thanks to freespiral for hosting TT this month. Her choice of challenge today is "Mineral". Well, I decided to continue my personal challenge of experimenting with super macro photos: this is a single grain of sand less that half a millimetre across. I'm intrigued by the detail it shows.

Nerd alert: It's photographed on a piece of paper with the 60mm macro lens plus Raynox 250 super macro attachment plus extension tubes, and still needed a lot of cropping. I used a 15-layer in-camera focus stack but if you look closely you'll see that the stacking has still left some parts out of focus. At that point I ran out of time to try again so I used some of the Topaz AI software to enhance it a little.

The reason I ran out of time is that I had another camera club outing to go on this evening - this time to the new complex of university buildings on the west of the city centre. I've been there with my camera once before (see my blip in February 2020): there's some quite impressively "different" architecture. However for my extra I've gone for a smushy arty-farty photo which I took there this evening - another experiment, using my modified Helios lens to get some circular swirls and soft focus. You'll probably either like it or hate it but I quite like it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.