Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

The Elusive Snowbird

I had a sighting today. It took a 73 degree day to draw one of them outside, but there was Bill, deep in thought.

No conversation took place.

Bill and his wife Barb, are what we call in the southern states, snowbirds. They flee the harsher winters of their homes up north for the warmer climes for anywhere from several weeks to six months.

Bill and Barb land in late November and fly home in early April. Less than four months (leave for holidays). They own their home next to me.

I hardly see them. So far this winter I think it's been one short conversation with Bill last week and one with Barb shortly after the migration south.

I miss having a neighbor most of the year, even if they're not chatty. I have one on the other side but their patio doesn't face mine.

Oh, well. The nature of the snowbird. They are important for our economy but I'm glad when they leave and give us year-rounders our town back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.