Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

The Nectar Race Is On!

Who will get to the tasty sugar water first?  The Zipper or the bee?  The feeder is actually "bee proof."  The holes are so small that bees cannot fit their little snoots, or whatever they use to eat, into them to get to the water.

What they can get to is the spillage on the outside of the feeder left by the birds.  When the hummingbirds come up for air, they splash a bit of the water off of their beaks onto the outside of the feeder.  That's what attracts the bees and other birds.

I think I have spoiled the regular viewers of my hummer blips.  I sit for hours in my attempts to get the sharpest shots possible.  The past several posts of Anna's and Zippy have had remarkable clarity.

But there are days during which I find that the in-flight shots are decent but not as sharp as one might want.  One must be reminded sometimes how difficult it is to capture the fleetness of these fellows in a single frame.  I think this shot is an example.  

Decent...but not great.  I hope you still enjoy :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.