Nature's colour combo

Left home 8.15am, plant stall not set up in the town centre so plan B, swing by Plants Galore for alpines for G&J before starting at 9am. Plants Galore don't open til 9am, plan C, nip to the supermarket to top up on cider supply to kill time, then Plants Galore. Found plants immediately suitable for G&J's alpine bed- 8 plants £10.95. Bish Bash Bosh! So my 9am start was 9.30, the lawn mower already plugged in ready for me to go .. George was obviously on the ball this morning. 2 pieces of lawn cut, Jean arrived fresh from the shower, she gave me her gardening wish list for the morning .. 41/2hrs later feeling rather warm (slightly overdressed, although it was fresh when I left home) I headed home for lunch. Hubby sat indoors not a window or door open,  same music, depressing to me, playing, the same artists, same kinda songs, over & over, everyday. Phew! I made us lunch then sat outside on the patio to eat mine. The allotment was calling ...... I loaded up the car with plants & wire cloche, & off I went.  2 rows of French beans, not sure if they are dwarf or climbing, I thought I was growing climbing BUT found some very healthy salvaged seed so used that. Hey ho! Next, a row of broad beans, finally another batch of sweetcorn plants that I'd raised from seed. I'm running out of space.... ARGH! Faffed about while trying to decide, okay, plant a 5 x 4plant block sweetcorn, leaving enough space between to plant squash/pumpkin. Perhaps adding climbing French bean plants as wel. The Three Sisters system of planting. I grew climbing French beans up through Mini poop sweetcorn last year, which was very successful. I met Diane & her son, George, who have taken over half of Jim's plot next to mine. The piece closest to me not let yet but there is a waiting list, so hopefully Diane, who is the council cashier will get on it sooner rather than later as time is going on for people to start planning a plot mid season. Stuart, my neighbour on the other side of me, gave me a trowel of Iceberg lettuce plants, I asked for 10, I planted 20 still had as many left so offered them to Diane who was only to happy to get some in her plot. :-) Everything planted and watered, I put up my pheasant defences. A bit desperate and ad hoc but I was feeling whacked by 6pm. Nipped to the local supermarket to pick up an easy dinner ... Oven baked fish, oven chips & mushy peas. That'll do.

Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting Abstract Thursday - Simplicity
 No tweaking just au natural. Acer palmatum 'Sango Kaku', one I've had for years that never fails to perform.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.