Marionb

By Marionb

It Don't Mean a Thing...

If It AIn't Got that Swing...

Today was "going home day" from the cottage and I knew if I didn't get a blip before I left, I might not get one at all. On the way in to the marina this morning in the boat taxi, I managed to get a shot of this swing bridge - through the slightly smudged windshield of the boat!  

The Wasauksing Swing Bridge spans the South Channel of Georgian Bay at Parry Sound and is the only road access to Parry Island which is the reserve of the Wasauksing First Nation. It was built in 1912 to provide rail access to Depot Harbour and later modified from rail only to one-lane vehicular traffic. The bridge swings open regularly to allow passage of boats. The problem is, it is deteriorating badly, has broken down several times  and will need to be replaced. I have heard that it will be an arched bridge when the time comes? Well, - wait for it - it just won't be the same if it doesn't swing! It is one of those things that has always been there, a part of our memories, and hard to imagine it gone..but time marches on.

Just a note: It was a cold morning (only 1 degree C ) at the cottage this morning, and as I approached Toronto on my drive home, the rain turned to SNOW!  Wet snow, not a lasting snow-on-the-ground snow, but SNOW! What's with THAT? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.