a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Here on in

I woke up at 3am this morning, which is not unusual, but I just couldn't get back to sleep again, which is quite unusual.  By 5:30 I decided to give it up as a bad job and had breakfast.  The sun had risen in a glorious clear sky so decided to put my boots and gaiters on and go and see what was happening in the water meadows by the local river.

There were at least 3 different species of damselfly and one dragon fly, all coated in dew and waiting for the sun to warm them up.  I did spend a lot of time photographing them, but it was the heron that I accidentaly scared up into the air that I liked the best for today's blip as I've featured dragons and damsels a fair bit recently.  

As the morning progressed the local rowing club came out to practice and balloons started taking off from a field about a mile or so away. I met another photographer who was off to take some shots of linnets and buntings (he hoped), but as I had already been out for nearly 3 hours at this point I decided to come back home for a second breakfast.

Its not 10:30am and I've already blipped -  the morning still stretches ahead in a most delightful fashion and the weather is glorious.  I am sure that the lack of sleep will catch up with me later on today, but just at the moment I can almost see why some blippers like to get up early every day ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.