Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Grand Day Out

My mum and I have had some lovely days out in Cambridge over the years and today was one of the best!
First of all we went to The Orchard Tea Room at Grantchester for a pot of tea amongst the apple trees. I was good and resisted the scones with jam and cream. Watching my mum tucking in made me massively regret that decision!
For the first time we walked all the way into Cambridge through the water meadows beside the river. So beautiful!! I’ve never seen so many buttercups!!
It was about three miles from the tea rooms into town and we LOVED it! The meadows, the river, the beautiful houses, baby swans and geese galore, the Edwardian bathing house ruins, the cows grazing - in town!! the colleges appearing through the cow parsley, the punts, the Mathmatical Bridge. Fabulous!!!
Just as we got to the Mathmatical Bridge - and sneakily listened to a tour guide telling his group that the bridge is held in place only by gravity - the rain started coming down so we dashed across the road to Fitzbillies and had a well earned lunch.
Avocado on sourdough toast for me, mushroom and smoked cheese tart for my mum. Delicious!!
We didn’t get cakes as we had our sights set on a Whitby bun each from M&S. Also delicious!!
We had a wander round the market and the lanes leading off it, and had our usual browse in TKMaxx before the rain started properly falling and we decided to start heading back to the car. Which seemed about a million miles away!!
The walk back was wetter but equally beautiful.
I cheekily used the loo at The Orchard before we set off for home. If it hadn’t been so wet we’d have had another pot of tea but we had to make do with a drive thru McDonalds tea and hot chocolate halfway home!
Eight and a half lovely miles walked today. I was ready for my bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.