Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

It's twins!

This morning we went to Richmond Park as I wanted to visit Isabella Plantation which is a beautiful garden within the park full of colourful azaleas. I usually go see them every spring but last year was unable to because of lockdown. Unfortunately we were a little late and they were past their best, although some plants still had colourful flowers on them.

There were signs everywhere that dogs had to be kept on a lead as the deer have young babies at this time of year, and some areas were off limits as the babies were lying in the bracken and it was best not to disturb them. I was thrilled to see many young fawns, and in fact this pair of twins were very curious and left their mother's side and walked quite close up to me. Look at those long eyelashes! It was good to see that all dogs were on leads and everyone was being very respectful of the deer and their fawns.

I kept an eye out for the birds as I know many people photograph owls and kestrels in this park. Imagine my delight when a pair of kestrels flew right above me and one settled on a branch nearby, where I managed to quickly get a shot - see extra. 

It was cool to start with cloudy weather but as soon as the cloud burned off and the sun came out it was a very warm and sunny day. We got home in time for lunch and Gavin did a small BBQ for the two of us. It has been a lazy afternoon and I spent the time editing some photos while Gavin went to the driving range.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.