A face only ...

... a mother could love.

Not really ... I think this common grackle fledgling is adorable!

I was reading the papers in the sunroom not really paying attention to what was going on outside when Richard came in and said there was this fledgling sitting on the edge of the birdbath.

I quickly took some pictures through the window but then stepped outside hoping that he/she wouldn't fly off.  I wasn't optimistic about that because the adult grackles are very flighty around people.  Much to my delight he/she stayed put long enough for me to get several shots. 

Later on as I sat on the edge of the pool either this same fledgling or another one was also sitting on the opposite edge of the pool ... see extra.  Based on the raucous noises coming from one of our pine trees I'd say we have a nest full of grackle fledglings!  

Backblipped: May 30, 2021 ... catching up slowly. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.