New College

This is New College, home of the School of Divinity at Edinburgh University.

This morning we attended a funeral (our reason for being in Edinburgh at the moment).  All went well, with the small congregation socially distanced from each other in the chapel.  No singing allowed, so the hymns were played from a recording (which, incidentally, meant the singing was much better than I normally hear at a funeral).

In the afternoon we continued to explore the city, and we came across this building.  When taking the photograph, I was a little irritated that if I centred the composition on the staircase, the spire in the background was off centre - what a poor piece of architectural design.  It was only later that I discovered that the spire was part of a completely separate building - Tolbooth Kirk on the other side of Castlehill, so it is perhaps surprising that this view is so nearly symmetrical.

By this stage in the afternoon it had become rather misty, which was tending to hide the top of the spire. I have had to do some editing to replace the totally bland white sky.

Another backblip after my return home as I did not have access to a computer while away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.