Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Archie meets a famous dog

More haar in the morning, but burned off by the time I set off for my torture session. JR did an online fitness session at home. I was tempted to get the bus back, but as none came along, I walked.

We wanted to go into town to visit the Barbour shop again. Our friend who can get us a staff discount is leaving. Too good to pass by! JR and Archie walked in to town, I got the bus.

Archie is SO good in shops! He just stands, and looks around and moves along to the next bit, uncomplaining. Unlike when he’s in a pub/cafe, where he can sometimes get impatient. And indeed, sometimes, refuses to go in at all. But he likes shops, it seems. He gets plenty of admiring pats and compliments..

Mission accomplished, we sat in the Gardens and had an ice cream, then I got the bus home, while the fitness fanatics walked. Town was absolutely heaving.

When I got home I cut the grass, which is just a twenty minute job, but boy I was puggled afterwards. I deserved that beer in the sun. Actually, two beers in the sun.

Archie is sitting with the statue of Bum. He’s a famous dog who lived in San Diego. Apparently Edinburgh is paired with San Diego, so we sent a statue of our famous Greyfriar’s Bobby, and they sent Bum, who is famous in his home town. Not sure what he was famous for, but they could have given him a nicer name...

Photo by my assistant

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.